ARLINGTON, Texas – Caroline Thesier of Mooresville, North Carolina, who won the U17 title at last summer’s Youth Gold Championships, was selected as Alberta E. Crowe’s 2020 Star tomorrow by the International Bowling Campus Youth Committee.

The prestigious award recognizes the star qualities of a female high school student or college student, including achievements on the trails, academic achievement and community service. Thesier will receive a $ 6,000 scholarship as this year’s award recipient.

“Winning this award means more to me than words can explain,” said Thesier. “Being among the many talented women who have received this honor is a real inspiration. Alberta Crowe has spent her life bowling, and it is a dream to be recognized as a follower of her steps. ”

She is a senior at South Iredell High School, has a 4.0 point point average (weight 4.60). She has taken several International Baccalaureate classes, from the Middle Years to the Diploma Program, in biology, mathematics, chemistry, psychology and Spanish. She is a member of the National Honors Society and Beta Club, and is in the national honors society for English, Spanish, mathematics and science.

She has been a volunteer with the Rotary Top of the Lake Club for seven years, and through the Interact Club she has held a number of events including Relay for Life and the Carolina Balloon Fest. Thesier has volunteered in a primary school for the past seven years, supporting teachers with things like pre-year induction, working with her honors societies and The Red Cross Club hosts events such as food drivers and book drivers, and works with young bowlers at its local summer bowling camp.

Thesier runs its own non-profit business, Cords for a Cause, handmade bracelets, keychains and similar items. Ninety cents of every dollar from sales goes to the charity Ballard vs The Big C, with 10 cents going to buy new products.

In addition to winning the U17 title at the 2019 Youth Gold Championships, Thesier holds over 30 scratch youth titles. She was selected for the U.S. Youth Team in 2019, having finished 11th (sixth among youth archers) at the U.S. Amateur, and participated in the 2019 U.S. Open Championship in the her hometown, earning a place in the 144-player arena through the pre-tournament warrant.

Thesier is headed to Vanderbilt in the fall, where she plans to double major in neurology and psychology and bowl for the Commodores.

USBC Hall of Fame member Betty Kuczynski was the first Alberta winner E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow in 1961. Other Hall of Fame members who received the Joy Abel Award (1962), Judy Soutar (1963), Mildred Ignizio ( 1967), Susie Reichley (1969), Cheryl Robinson (1970), Donna Adamek (1975), Nikki Gianulias (1978), Tish Johnson (1980), Lynda (Norry) Barnes (1988) and Liz Johnson (1993).

Visit him for more information on scholarship opportunities for youth archers.

Year, winner, home town

1961 Betty Kuczynski, Cicero, Ill.
1962 Joy Abel, Lansing, Ill.
1963 Judy Soutar, Leawood, Kan.
1964 Ann Bosworth, Belleville, Ill.
1965 Karen Linton, El Paso, Texas
1966 Betty Jo Crow, Fairway, Kan.
1967 Mildred Ignizio, Rochester, NY
1968 Pamela Carver, Phoenix, Ariz.
1969 Janice Sue Reichley, Dallas
1970 Cheryl Robinson, Destrehan, La.
1971 Rosalyn Raab, San Antonio, Texas
1972 Karen Gustafson, Sunland, Calif.
1973 Leslie Ferris, Arlington, Va.
1974 Pam Dusek, Ontario, Calif.
1975 Donna Adamek, Apple Valley, Calif.
1976 Regina Loveall, Amarillo, Texas
1977 Kathy Kirst, San Antonio, Texas
1978 Nikki Gianulias, Vallejo, Calif.
1979 Audrey Gable, Whitehall, Pa.;
1980 Tish Johnson, Panorama City, Calif.
1981 Shelley Johnson, Toledo, Ohio
1982 Vicki Parker, Pelham, NH
1983 Laura Dulisse, Blauvelt, NY
1984 Kristine Gross, Citrus Heights, Calif.
1985 Becky Kregling, Stratford, Conn.
1986 Lori Benge, Wichita, Kan.
1987 Dionne Lee, Modesto, Calif.
1988 Lynda Norry, Concord, Calif.
1989 Stefanie Marek, Wilmington, Del.
1990 Kelly Everding, Arvada, Colo.
1991 Laura Ross, Mahwah, NJ
1992 Kari Murph, Dayton, Ohio
1993 Elizabeth Johnson, Niagara Falls, NY
1994 Pamela Inloes, Modesto, Calif.
1995 Kassy Hyman, Dyer, Ind.
1996 Michelle Ewald, St. Clair’s Shores, Mich.
1997 Kimberly Claus, Mesquite, Texas
1998 Diandra Hyman, Dyer, Ind.
1999 Amy Rocco, Phoenix
2000 Robin Crawford, Hendersonville, Tenn.
2001 Melissa Bellinder, Fullerton, Calif.
2002 Anita Manns, Austin, Texas
2003 Lindsey Coulles, Centerville, Ohio
2004 Amanda Burgoyne, Newport, Minn.
2005 Cassandra Leuthold, Blackhawk, SD
2006 Josie Earnest, Vandalia, Ill.
2007 Joi Bell, Pflugerville, Texas
2008 Brittni Hamilton, Webster, NY
2009 Ricki Williams, Wichita, Kan.
2010 Heather D’Errico, Rochester, NY
2011 Nicole Mosesso, Centerville, Ohio
2012 Megan Buja, Rockford, Ill.
2013 Melanie Hannon, Cheektowaga, NY
2014 Melanie Crawford, Plano, Texas
2015 Emma Kuhn, Texas City, Texas
Gazmine Mason 2016, Cranston, RI
2017 Natalie Koprowitz, Girard, Ill.
2018 Crystal Singh, Coral Springs, Fla.
2019 Mabel Cummins, Elburn, Ill.
2020 Caroline Thesier, Mooresville, NC